A Small Finish

Yup.  I finished something.  Kind of.  Claire was leading a small blackwork/cross stitch SAL.  I found out about it two weeks or more into the SAL, but joined anyway.  I am, after all, a Sensational Serial Starter!

I wanted to try out some threads I finally recently got from Needleworker’s Delights.  I won’t link to ND as I do not recommend them.  I also don’t recommend the threads.  At least not the ones I chose.  I got three weights of Jar Designs Overdyed cottons in the spiced ginger color.  I was not happy with the stranded floss.  I used the lightest and darkest of the color for my little block.  There was so little variation as to be non-existent.

Not trusting my own eyes, I asked Jeff which stitches where the darkest and which the lightest.  He couldn’t tell and thought I was using the same thread throughout.  In the photo there does seem to be some variability.  Maybe my eyes aren’t as good as the camera!

Anyway.  I picked 3371, 355, and 356—all by good ol’ faithful DMC to finish the Seba freebie from Cyberstitch.Com called Square Magic of Colors.  I am satisfied with the finished piece.

Claire93 SAL project

Seba Freebie stitched

To have a Finish (versus finish),  I thought I would stitch a reverse color version and use the two for a biscornu.  Then I thought I might find a nice complementary fabric and have a fabric backed biscornu.  Now, I’m thinking fabric backed pinkeep.

Here are some of the fabrics I was thinking about:

Three fabrics from Keepsake Quilting and three from Fort Worth Fabric Studio

Which of these do you think goes best with the Square?

Clockwise from top left the fabrics are:

  1. Keepsake Quilting Gold, Not Necessarily Christmas
  2. Keepsake Quilting Pebbles, Water Lilies
  3. Keepsake Quilting Petals Tango Punch
  4. Robert Kaufman Spot On from Ft. Worth Fabric Studio
  5. Moda Ticklish from Ft. Worth Fabric Studio
  6. Moda Honey, Honey from Fr. Worth Fabric Studio

Now that I’ve seen the piece and the fabrics on the same page, Numbers 1, 3, and 4 are out.   Which of the remaining three do you like, #2, #5, or #6?

What would you make?  Biscornu or Pinkeep?

About Julie

Alpha Dog (my partner Jeff), our two Miniature Schnauzers, and myself are on a life changing journey as Alpha Dog is retired in September 2010. At the same time our lease was up. So, we decided to hit the road! The journey has already begun. I am writing on behalf of myself and our exceptional Miniature Schnauzers, Jojo (6, salt & pepper) and Taz (5 next month, black & silver.)
This entry was posted in Blackwork, Community and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Small Finish

  1. claire93 says:

    I like fabrics on left and middle of second row – so numbers 4 & 5 I think.
    And I’d go for a pinkeep lol but that is only because I’m biased ^^
    Your colour choices are lovely and you CAN see the difference between light & medium.
    Look forward to seeing your Finish . . . and to having a photo to add to the gallery

    • Julie says:

      Thank you so much! I just ordered the fabric, the one on the bottom left. I have some biscornu tops I could also use this fabric for. I’ve never made a pinkeep, so I really think that’s the way to go. Then get some really pretty pins to go around the edge. I’m trying to create a “basket of smalls” so every month I can give one away at my blog. My goal is for November this year to start the give aways. Might be fun!

      • claire93 says:

        excellent fabric choice ^^ some little gold beaded pins might look nice with this colour scheme . . . look forward to seeing your finished pinkeep

  2. Pingback: Stitching Busy | The Shop Sampler

Leave a Reply

