Ode to European Reproduction Samplers: Preparing for Papa

About six months ago I opened my big mouth and said, “Papa will be my birthday present to myself.  I will start Papa by then or on my birthday.”  Well my birthday is in just a couple days.  And I’ve been getting ready!

I purchased Papa probably four years ago when I discovered Sabine Taterra-Gundacker’s  website “Alte-Mustertücher-nachgestickt.”  Since then I have spent hours and hours looking at the patterns and at the gallery of Sabine’s works and collection.  I personally think everyone who stitches should have one of Sabine’s patterns in his or her repertoire.  Personally, I want them all!

Where do the ideas for these patterns come from?  Sabine finds interesting samplers in museums and in private collections.  She then sets to recreating the original works, documenting threads she uses, trying to match to the original as much as possible.  She includes the errors as well as the beauty and the history, counting every old thread.  I have come to respect her skill even more having been working on the Martha Stones Sampler.  I struggle with “do I correct the spelling or leave it as is?”  I’m leaving it.

Another of my favorites is Erna Schuppelius.  I love how Sabine’s photos included the finishing done on this piece and plan to add the crochet border and ribbon trim to mine.  The alphabet is charming and I will use it in work that I may design myself or for personalizing other works because I love it so.

I have learned so much about samplers from perusing Sabine’s online shop.  And I have come to love samplers from a variety of cultures and can even now begin to identify origins when seeing an unlabeled sampler.  I have several other patterns in queue from Sabine and another that I have started that is purely a labor of love.  (IFAKHS 1817)

Before I seek your input on my color choices for Papa, let me show you how Sabine packages her products for you.  It’s like getting a birthday present in the mail when you open it.

Now here is my dilemma.  I have the fabric it’s a 32ct Wexford linen in blue with grey and charcoal markings.  You’ll see it in the photo gallery following.  I had chosen Threadworx Deep Blue Sea to outline the “pages” of the pattern and Crescent Colours Lobster Claw to do the pattern design using the Threadworx for any accents.

I’ve been testing the Lobster Claw against the fabric in a blackwork SAL.  It’s not bad.  The problem is Jeff hates orange.  It’s not absolutely important that I avoid orange, but I do think he is more likely to help me frame and hang it, it the colors are pleasing to him, too!  And I don’t want to give this one away.  After all it’s a birthday present to me!

Jeff like brown.  He love the colors in my Quaker Virtues.  He has suggested a reddish brown, not too red.  I found a currant color that he likes.  I like it too.  But how will it look on the fabric?  I don’t want to have to wait to get the thread.  That means I’d have to start after my birthday has passed.  And then there is the question of what color should I use for the outlining?  I think the darker blue will be too much dark.  I thought about using the Lobster Claw.  But I don’t know.

What do you think?  Check these pics out and let me know what you think.

About Julie

Alpha Dog (my partner Jeff), our two Miniature Schnauzers, and myself are on a life changing journey as Alpha Dog is retired in September 2010. At the same time our lease was up. So, we decided to hit the road! The journey has already begun. I am writing on behalf of myself and our exceptional Miniature Schnauzers, Jojo (6, salt & pepper) and Taz (5 next month, black & silver.)
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Online Shops, Sampler Life, Samplers, Stitchalongs (SALs) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ode to European Reproduction Samplers: Preparing for Papa

  1. That’s a tough one. I love the blue but can see what you mean about it possibly being too dark. Can’t make much of a comment on the lobster claw as I don’t like orange either!

    • Julie says:

      Someone suggested purple/lavender blend which got me thinking about Sulky Blendable threads and even Gutterman Variegated. Going to look at both tomorrow.

  2. jackie4ball says:

    The sulky threads are gorgeous. I actually like orange but its definitely not to everyone’s taste and you have o be happy with the colours. I can’t wait to see your progress on this I hav the pattern need to look through my stash and see what I am going to use.

    • Julie says:

      I like the orange, too. But when you use something your partner/spouse doesn’t like, it’s kind of mean! I decided to go with a Valdani overdyed. I’ll post pics when it looks a little less like a stitching fetus! Would love to see yours!

  3. claire93 says:

    I like the dark blue and can see it with a nice bright turquoise.

  4. Willeke says:

    Your very welcome to join the SAL. Have fun stitching.

Leave a Reply

