Calling Mission Control…

Jeff, Jojo, Taz, and I have revised our “Mission.” Originally we were going to travel all over the US and maybe Canada, “boon-docking” where we could utilize our solar panels to provide the juice for whatever propane couldn’t energize—things like putting out the slide to give us living space and what few lights we might need beyond our lantern.  The fridge and hot water can be run on propane.  So anywhere we could be a defined distance from the road (per National Forest regs) we could just park and play.

For me, play was to visit needlework shops in the areas we traveled.  By talking with the owners/managers I would come up with favorite threads, colors, and stitches of the owners.  Using that input I would design a sampler.  Describing that process was the original Mission of this blog.

Well, shit things happen, times change gas prices skyrocket, and Wal-Mart the economy pushes lots of small shop owners out of business!

We are into plan Z-19.

And this blog is all over the place, but not where it started out.

Map of Baldwin County

The yellow dot is where we are camped in Senate District 32 of Alabama

I can’t really tell you what we’re doing outside of sitting in Alabama where the weather is great and the rent and utilities are real low.   We know we’ll be here for a year unless a hurricane  forces us to evacuate.  We will re-evaluate our plans a year from now as to whether we head back north or stay another year.

Unfortunately, there are no local needlework stores outside of the chains and I am back to my old faithful internet stores.  I really miss the joy and inspiration that comes from walking into a shop and seeing all the geegaws and whatsits.   And picking up the patterns and books, reading a bit before I create my priority list.  But that’s neither here nor there in terms of a Mission Statement or description.

When I look back upon the past several years, most of my posts fall more under the subtitle of this blog—”And Other Stitching Challenges.”  Completing the “Shop Sampler” is going to be an incredible challenge, one that may need to go to the bottom of the “To Do” list.

But I’m wondering.  If the Mission changes and the Shop Sampler is not the focus, should the title of the blog and mission statement be different?

I think not.  I think I may need to reconsider how I gather the Shop information.  I’m thinking that I may enlist readers to help me.  And I’m thinking I may create a challenge to make it work.  Maybe something like this:

  • I write a formal challenge asking for the shop name, the shop web and/or email address, the shop owner/manager’s favorite thread and color and the favored stitch using that thread and color.
  • Readers email me or make a comment on the formal challenge post with the requested info.
  • I add each submission to a page under the Sampler Shops button (at the top of the page) after I send a note to each Shop so they can check out the link.
  • Once a month I choose one submission randomly.  That poster will receive a token of my appreciation…maybe a small, a tool, a bit of fabric…nothing major, just a token.
  • Start all over again the next month.

Sewing basket

So…that’s what I’m thinking.  What do you think?

About Julie

Alpha Dog (my partner Jeff), our two Miniature Schnauzers, and myself are on a life changing journey as Alpha Dog is retired in September 2010. At the same time our lease was up. So, we decided to hit the road! The journey has already begun. I am writing on behalf of myself and our exceptional Miniature Schnauzers, Jojo (6, salt & pepper) and Taz (5 next month, black & silver.)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Needlework Shops, Samplers, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calling Mission Control…

  1. That sounds like a very creative way round your obstacle. Or perhaps you could widen your information base to stitchers you come across on your travels? For me, ‘rules’ are never set in stone. Life is always changing and fluctuating – roll with it!

    • Julie says:

      I like your idea, too. I could do both, with persons submitting both a personal and a shop listing would get counted twice in the random drawing. Thanks for the great idea!

      I had a few reasons I really wanted to focus on shops. First, I think it’s very important to support local small businesses. And, I wanted to showcase, for the new and inquisitive, the skills that are available in these shops. As I’ve traveled I’ve found plenty of shops indexed online or in local phone books, etc. that simply don’t exist anymore. It is so frustrating to drive miles and miles just to find an empty building. I think we need a more current list. Even lists associated with groups are often outdated. Just like links in websites and on Pinterest are not checked periodically, once a group has made one of these lists it’s likely to sit there long after the shop has closed. I do tend to update my links and lists. Kind of OCD that way! Either that or I was a research/reference librarian in a former life!

Leave a Reply

