Ch…ch…ch…changes!

Way back when, I remember making a Contract With Me.  Maybe you remember it, too.  Maybe you did something similar.  Mine’s not working for me any longer.  How about yours?

I had set things up so I could work on every work in progress each week.  I did that for about four months.  I liked the fact that nothing was being set aside.  What I didn’t like was the feeling that I wasn’t making any progress on any particular project.

Bygone Stitches Quaker Virtues

Quaker Virtues to date

Ink Circles Cirque des Coeurs

Cirque des Coeurs—moving along. Love working on this, too!

And, I found myself resenting projects.  I’d just feel great about getting to a point in Quaker Virtues and have to set it down to move on in the schedule to Cirque des Cœurs.  I found myself hating Cirque because it was taking me away from something I really was loving working on.

Then some people (i.e. those wicked stitchers at Superstar Serial Starters and Divine Disciplined Divas Facebook Group) mentioned a SAL they read about in a blog.  So I had to do that. Then I found out about another at one of the numerous blogs I follow.  That one led to another.  You get the picture?!  Those little SAL are delightful—quick, easy, small, fun, achievable.  How can you not participate?!

So, I gave up the schedule.  I’ve been working on the little SALs as they come along.  If I don’t finish when the SAL is done, that’s okay.  I’ve been working them with materials I wanted to test or using fabric scraps.  And as tools for learning finishing techniques new to me.

Claire93 SAL project

Seba Freebie stitched

I’ve also picked up whatever I wanted to work on.  I determine how far I want to get to feel like I’ve accomplished something.  While I’m working on that I decide what I will pick up next.

Almost done with B. Blok sampler

I still have to finish the borders. This is waiting room stitching.

And so it goes.  WIPocalypse is at hand!

About Julie

Alpha Dog (my partner Jeff), our two Miniature Schnauzers, and myself are on a life changing journey as Alpha Dog is retired in September 2010. At the same time our lease was up. So, we decided to hit the road! The journey has already begun. I am writing on behalf of myself and our exceptional Miniature Schnauzers, Jojo (6, salt & pepper) and Taz (5 next month, black & silver.)
This entry was posted in Community, Contract With Me, Samplers, Stitchalongs (SALs), UFOs, WIPocalypse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ch…ch…ch…changes!

  1. Rules are for breaking anyway, that’s my outlook on things! Love that little freebie SAL.

  2. dryadart says:

    hoping you work on Quaker values some more – LOVE it!! Discipline is good, but rules are there for breaking!

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! I love Quaker Values, too! Horror of horrors, the Quaker Christmas SAL begins NOW! Good thing I can tread water even if I’m not a strong swimmer. (smile)

  3. I love all of your projects :-) I’m lucky in that I enjoy all sorts of different disciplines. I only ever have one quilt, one cross stitch, one knitting project etc. on the go at any time. I just swap and change between them as I choose.

  4. claire93 says:

    I think change is good ^^
    Basically you need to do whatever gets you motivated. I always find a small; quick finish project every now and then spurs me on. Nothing like a little bit of instant gratification ^^

Leave a Reply

