Orts

In my effort to make this blog a resource as well as a kind of stitching travelogue, I have added two new pages that will be updated when I have new info to add.  I may add more of such stand alone pages.  When I make changes in this aspect of the blog I’ll send out an “Ort Alert.”

The first ort is simply a page of quotes that I would like to work into a sampler one day.  Until then, I’ll just try to fit them into conversations!  These won’t be your run of the mill sayings.  I find inspiring or thought-provoking words in the books I read.  I jot them down on paper to remember.  I need some place to put them.  Now I have a place.  I had tried to put them in a file.  I can’t remember where I put the file.  I always remember where my computer is, though.  So, when I find that file, I’ll add it to this page of orts and I’ll always know where it is.  I’ll even share it with you!

Same thing with stitch diagrams.  When I was working on the CyberPointers’ ANG 40th Anniversary project, I searched high and low in as many cyber nooks and crannies as I could find to come up with appropriate stitches.  [You see, when you live on the road carry books is not a great idea.  I tried.  I put all the books I thought I would have to have in my section of the book storage place over the couch.  I packed very neatly and used the space incredibly well.  The first time we went for a little drive towing the trailer to have our signage painted on, the shelf collapsed.  Luckily, Jeff is an engineer and fixed the shelf so it could carry more than a half a dozen tee shirts.  Nonetheless, books are heavy and we need to travel light.  Let’s face it, we could all stand to travel a little lighter!]

Anywhooo…I carry less than a quarter of the books we started out with and only a couple stitch guides, so I depend on the digital world a lot more.  I love that there are more craft type books that are jumping on the electronic bandwagon, but mostly they are publishing for Apple devices.  I don’t use Apple devices.  Which brings us back to the topic.  [I drive Jeff nuts with all my asides in conversation.]  I bookmarked every website that had a good section for stitch instructions with clear, coherent images.  Of course, I now have all that info mixed in with my bookmarks for cool shops and patterns on my wish list and who know how many other really super important reasons for bookmarking a site.  As usual, I finally got smart and created a category for patterns I want, which has become a wish list for anything I want!  My file for stitch guides is woefully small although I know I bookmarked at least 20 sites!

So, I’m sorting orts.  As find the orts appropriate for the pages, I’ll add them.  As I find a collection of orts that need to be grouped and organized as a whole, I’ll add them, too.  Maybe I can save you some grief from your ort sorting!  Let me know if it helps!

Leave a Reply

