The Year of the Blog: 2012

New Year–fresh committment. I will be rotating posts daily across my four blogs so things will hopefully be more fresh. For The Shop Sampler I will be adding posts about Sharon B’s Take a Stitch Tuesday that starts tomorrow, January 3rd. I will also be sharing how Pin Tangle’s Studio Journal class goes. I see both of these learning experiences as tools for ultimately designing my “Shop Sampler.”

So far the majority of the colors chosen by shops are in the green range, so the resulting piece may be more abstract than representative of events and images from my travels. But that’s okay. And I happen to love green, too! The trick then will be to really work with texture and shading. Both of the Pin Tangle experiences will let me focus on these techniques to the extreme.

Just a note, while the Studio Journal class (beginning in February) does cost $60 and is limited in class size–for all I know the class may already be filled–TAST or Take a Stitch Tuesday is open to the public and free of charge. Click on the links for either of these events for additional info!

See you on Saturday. If you’re going to do either of Sharon‘s lessons, leave a comment so I can link to your photos!

4 thoughts on “The Year of the Blog: 2012

  1. Thank you, Julie, for the kind comments on my website about the Fly Stitch. TAST is a great chance to master new stitches, use the ones you already know and ‘get going’ on a project. Looking forward to many more stitches, aren’t you?

    • Oh, yeah! This weekend I’m going to create a swarm of flies. Need to get the fabric prepared and at least mark off a space for a heading on the sampler this will become. This is really fun already!

Leave a Reply

