TAST2012 Week Four: Laissez les bontemps roulez!

TAST 2012 sampler at the end of week 4

TAST 2012 Sampler End of Week 4

That’s French for let the good times roll, if you didn’t know.  And that was my theme for this week’s stitch challenge.

The stitch for TAST 2012 Week Four was the Cretan stitch–open or closed.  Or even knotted, if you like!   I like the Cretan stitch.  It layers well.  And it can be embellished in so many ways.  Two of my favorite books show some possibilities.  I bought Judith Baker Montano’s Elegant Stitches and Linda Causee’s An Encyclopedia of Crazy Quilt Stitches and Motifs some 15 years ago when I started dabbling in crazy quilting.  Other sources of inspiration and education include, to mention just a few:

But back to my Cretan stitch sample.  As I said in an earlier post, I’m letting the passing year’s events dictate color and how I will use the stitches in the challenge.  Right now I am in Mississippi, about 30 minutes from New Orleans.  Carnival has began on Twelfth Night or the Feast of the Epiphany.  It will end at the close of the Tuesday before Lent, called Fat Tuesday or “Mardi Gras.”  It is important to know this is not a New Orleans thing, but a cultural thing tied into the Catholic and other Christian calendars, linked back to when the French ruled this part of the US.  Truth be told it goes back way beyond that, too!

There are three colors associated with Mardi Gras:  Gold (or yellow), Purple, and Green.  The gold stands for wealth, purple stands for justice, and green stands for health.  The fleur de lis is a popular symbol which basically represents a lily.

The Gentle Art Sampler Thread: orange marmalade

Just yummy!

So, I used these colors to create a Mardi Gras or Carnival band on my TAST sampler.  I used an layered and stacked cretan stitch in DMC cotton #552 and #561 for the cretan stitches.  I filled the center area with a row of double knot stitches (aka Palestrina stitch) in The Gentle Art overdyed cotton # 0580 (Orange Marmalade, my favorite orange/yellow).

I used the purple DMC to make mini fleurs des lis on the top of the banner with a lazy daisy stitch  (aka detached chain) and straight stitches.  Then I used amethyst, green, and gold 11° seed beads on the bottom of the banner to give the effect of swag.

TAST 2012 Week 4 Challenge

Laissez les bontemps roulez

So, what do you think?  Do you want this graphed out for you?  You have but to ask!

12 thoughts on “TAST2012 Week Four: Laissez les bontemps roulez!

    • Merci, Isabelle. I love your bee.

      RE: translation, in this area the people don’t really speak pure French like you do or like I tried to learn. (Same thing in Quebec–people there would look at me like I was nuts when I would try to practice.) Down here it’s Creole and Cajun French, what has evolved from the Caribs and Acadians. They actually say it how I wrote it. Kind of like the differences between British English and American.

      Thank you so much for your kind words!

  1. What a wonderful process of deciding how/what to stitch! I like your little fleur-de-lis motifs even though that’s not what I’m supposed to be looking at 😉 Great job all around.

    • Thank you! It’s a little hard to see the Cretans because of the embellishments! I loved your sample, too! The closed Cretan was terrific. I can see some leaves in my future!

      FYI, the photo didn’t show when I opened your page. But it did load when I clicked in the middle of the photo space. And I got a very clear picture of your neat stitching!

  2. Thank you Julie for visiting my blog to see my Cretan. And for “pinning” it – to my knowledge that’s the first time I’ve been pinned! (is that something to celebrate?!) Hope you’ve gone back to look at my other Stitch Samplers too… My 23 yr old son is on a trip across the US right now- he’ll be in New Orleans in a few days.. I’m sure he’ll love it.
    LOVE your photo in header.. gorgeous!!

    • Thank you for your comments, Marie. And thank you too for the note to other Blogger users about comment settingsin your blog. I seem to have terrible luck with leaving comments on Blogger posts.

      I agree with you about Pinterest. And from what I’m reading in the blogging news, so does the rest of the world! I think it’s important for craft/art bloggers to learn as much as they can about the internet as it is a front line storefront for many of us.

Leave a Reply

