Pinterest, Creative Property Rights, and Miscellany

Thank you, Linda!  Actually you have been “pinned” four times now.  I like to let people know when I pin their site so they can say if it’s okay or not.  After all, your blog is your creative property and you have a right to determine how it is used!  Further, your blog stats may not reflect the true power of your site when images may be being viewed by 30 pinterest viewers who have not clicked through to your site, but now know who you are! 

  • RE:  PINTEREST

Here’s the link to the four of your images that have been pinned so far:  http://pinterest.com/source/linda-hubbard.blogspot.com/  When someone clicks through the images, the clicking person is sent to your blog or website.  Pinterest is a relatively new phenom that combines searching with social networking.  The Pinterest subscriber (it’s free!) creates bulletin “boards” of his or her interests and then “pins” images that are related to that interest.  Like-minded people can see what has been found and share what they have found, too.  You can search for your favorite topic in Pinterest and get an image of every pin anyone else has made associated with your search term.  I use it as a kind of “rolodex” to save “scraps of paper” for addresses I want to see again.  More manageable than my browser favorites and with a pictoral reminder, too!  Your Cretan Stitch sample is on my Board titled “Beautiful Embroidery, Incredible Stitchers.”

  • RE:  STUMBLE UPON

A similar service out there that is not image dependant is Stumble Upon.  I belong to both services.  And when I find a blog I like I hit the “I like it!” button and if no one has ever donet that before the blog gets added to the Stumble Upon search list according to the category I assign the blog to.

  • FOR THE NOVICE BLOGGER

For novice bloggers out there, this is another reason why tagging your photos and giving them good descriptions and captions is SO important.  A Pinterest tag cannot occur if you do not have photos.  And your photos might not be found if they do not have keywords associated with them.  Give your photo title one ripe with key words and give the alt title other good key words to ensure you get noticed by search engines!  (An aside:  Another pet peeve of mine is when bloggers or web site writers create a link that opens on the page you’re on.  To ensure your readers don’t stray from your page, have your links open in a blank page.  That way when they close the link window, they are still on the wonderful, incredible resourceful site that is YOURS!)  For more tips on blogging (especially for wordpress sites) check out Time Thief at her blog One Cool Site.  She is the absolute best.  Her tutorials on using HTML tables to present your photos in a neat fashion are excellant and you can copy her code to create your own template even if you know nothing about HTML or any other computerese.

  • MISCELLANY

As far as my header, thank you so much.  This image snippet was from the first needlepoint project I completed as an adult, the second of my life.  Actually my first project was petit point and I never wanted to do it again.  My EGA friends pointed out most needlepoint is not quite as challenging and is easier on the eyes.  The petit point I did as a teenager.   The header pattern can be found (free of charge) under the American Needlepoint Guild’s Education section.  It is called “Honey, I Shrunk the Heart.”  Check out this pattern and the other wonderful info to be found in the Stitch of the Month resource!

  • A NOTE TO ALL WHO COMMENT

In my reply to your comment, I will link back to your blog or website.  Some people don’t know that by clicking on your name they can contact you or your site.  If I put a link in my reply it makes it easier for others to find you.  I don’t have room on my blog to list all the wonderful sites I visit.  Where I can, I will add your site to Stumble Upon or Pinterest (and let you know that I have done so.)  If this is not acceptable, please use the contact form found under the TSS Mission Button at the page top to contact me privately, or tell me not to link back in your comment!  I appreciate all the kindness I have found in this community! 

  • READERS 

Please be kind to my commentors and check out the links in my replies to their comments!

4 thoughts on “Pinterest, Creative Property Rights, and Miscellany

  1. Excellent tips in this post, thanks for sharing. I share the same pet peeve about links not opening in a separate page.

    I think Pinterest is here to stay (and it’s a fun resource!) but I wonder about the copyright infringement aspect. Still, it can be a great way to get exposure. Good tips about tagging photos.

    • Some crafty/artsy people are not so tech savvy. You help make blogging accessable to us so deserve credit (and traffic!) You already have my gratitude!

  2. I have a love hate relationship with aggregators of all types, including Pinterest. I am not happy when pattern scraping Pinterest collectors repost the graphs I offer up on my site, for exactly the reasons you mention. It’s just a visual rehash of the same parasitic problem that About.com posed – reuse of the target’s intellectual property without recompense or permission. Thanks for surfacing the problem again.

Leave a Reply

