TAST Week 9 Meets Studio Journal

Laptop screen after a fan fell on it

Fractured Laptop Screen

A lot has happened since I last posted. We moved from Bay St. Louis, Mississippi to Robertsdale, Alabama. It’s very nice here and super weather today—84 degrees with a good breeze. Beautiful trails to walk, so the pups are loving it!  Unfortunately, when we were settling into our new site my laptop was damaged.  The image to the left is what you see on the lower right screen when turned on.  I think I’m going to create a needlepoint design out of the pattern.  Needless to say, this has had an impact on my internet presence!

I’ve started a new class. Sharon Boggon’s Studio Journal: a Designer’s Workhorse.  Yesterday began Week Four.  I have been busy reading, completing the exercises, and working with my journal everyday.  Following is an easy, but fun example of an exercise from the Studio Journal course.  Hopefully in the future you will see designs that flow from the exercises I’ve been doing and from the creativity using the journal inspires!

Cut out from Studio Journal Class Week 3

Smaller cut out

Smaller cut out block duplicated for overall pattern

Smaller cut out block duplicated for overall pattern

TAST has taken a back seat during the weeks for detached chain and chain stitch, but I’m back on track with this week’s Couching Stitch.  Taking the Journal class is pulling a lot of loose ends together for me.  My sample of TAST’s Week 9 stitch led me to pull out an old UFO, Venus de la Mer.

I once did a doodle of a Venus of Willendorf incorporating Chakra points.  I liked the doodle so much I decided to turn it into an embroidery piece.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted her to be represented with elements of Earth, Air, Fire, or Water, so I decided I would do four pieces, one for each element.  I started with Water since I had some cool water fabric to use as a background.

Doodle of Chakra Points done over 10 years ago

A doodle of Chakra Points I did over 10 years ago, then decided to stitch

Crown of Venus de la Mer

Crown of Venus de la Mer, couched eyelash thread and pearl seed beads

I’ve now put the original doodle in my journal where it will be safe and I can easily find it again.  And, I couched the eyelash thread hair in place, using some seed beads for embellishment.  When Jeff looked at it and asked what I was doing and what was I using, I asked him what he thought.  He said, “It looks like weeds.”  Mission Accomplished!!

Freeform Surface Embroidery

Venus de la Mer: Freeform Surface Embroidery

Close up of surface embroidery

Surface embroidery: Venus de la Mer

Snow White Peony

Snow White Peony: An ANG class project due 3.15.12

I’ve also been working like crazy to finish an ANG class, Snow White Peony.  It is due on March 15.  I think I can finish it.  But even if I don’t, I’m going to send it in to the instructor for feedback.  A certificate of completion would be nice, though, especially since I’m interested in pursuing Master Stitcher qualifications.  What do you think?  Is it doable?

6 thoughts on “TAST Week 9 Meets Studio Journal

  1. Super design. Your background fabric is perfect for the water element. I love the couching AND the shell.

Leave a Reply

