Happy St. Patrick’s Day

Image

Tomorrow is St Patrick’s Day and I have little to say or show for myself over the past couple weeks.

I have not been stitching much, or doing anything much in the past two weeks as I’ve been sick.  When a person who has had Bariatric or stomach by-pass surgery has gut pain and vomiting, it’s taken seriously.  So I even spent a day in the ER in a strange new to me hospital in Foley, Alabama undergoing CT scan and other tests and evals to make sure there is no problem related to the Roux En Y surgery I had two years ago this month.  Thankfully (maybe) they could find nothing amiss and sent me on my not so merry way with an Rx for more morphine than I took when I was a fresh post-op!  But that’s what it took to keep the pain at bay.  After two days in bed, I started to feel like a human being again while still not knowing what was wrong.

So, now it’s St. Paddy’s Day.  We will not be eating the traditional (gassy) meal of corned beef and cabbage.  But I thought I’d share three of my favorite St. Pat’s recipes with you.

Irish Potato Pancakes

Boxty on the griddle, Boxty in the pan, If you can’t
make Boxty, You’ll never get a man.

First up, Boxty.  Boxty is a terrific way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.  We make extra just so I can make this recipe.  I make more Boxty than we will eat and wrap up the leftovers in meal sized packets and freeze them until we need a fix.  You reheat them the same as you would frozen tater tots or frozen french fries.  But they are soooo much better!

My Favorite Soda Bread Recipe

My Favorite Soda Bread Recipe

Next, Irish Soda Bread.  I found my favorite recipe in a Gourmet magazine years ago.  The article author traveled around Ireland and reported on the Soda Bread found at various B & B’s.  While several recipes were given, the basic one, plain and simple, was my favorite.  And, I get raves whenever I make it for other people.  You will, too!

Irish Potato Candy

Irish Potato Candy---neither Irish nor Potato, but very delish!

Finally, Irish Potato Candy.  This recipe is neither Irish, nor is there a potato in it.  But it’s fun!  Last year was the first time I made it.  I added macadamia nuts to the recipe, poking them into the little “potato” candies so the nuts looked like eyes in the potato.  Then I got some Easter Basket grass and buried the potatoes in the grass and mounded some on top, too.  Whimsical, effective, deadly sweet confection for spring!

Enjoy!  Tell me which recipe you try, and how you liked it!  If you make changes to make the recipes better, I must know this, too!

Leave a Reply

