Take A Stitch Tuesday Catch Up

Sampler To Date

Sampler effective March 24, 2012. Looking good!

Now that the Studio Journal as Designer’s Workhorse class is done, I’ve taken the time to catch up on my TAST stitching.  I’ve combined five weeks into the sampler band I’ve done this week.  So what stitches did I use?

Spring is definitely happening here in Southern Alabama and this inspired me to create a little fantasy flower garden and fresh, feathery, green garland.  I tried to follow an idea put forth by Mary Corbet to given my flowers a kind of raised center, but I did not have much success with this.  Guess I’ll have to keep on trying.  But I’m not disappointed with my results.  There is a lot of texture to my flowers.  And I had fun while learning two new stitches!

Fantasy Flower 1 Fantasy Flower 2 Fantasy Flower3
  • Padded Center DMC 3821
  • Detached Chain “spokes” DMC 3814
  • Whipped Wheel DMC 3835
  • Detached Chain surface petals DMC 3607
  • Padded Center DMC 3821
  • Detached Chain “spokes” DMC 3814
  • Whipped Wheel DMC 353
  • Amethyst 11° seed beads around center
  • iridescent Amethyst bugle beads outlining flower
  • Padded Center DMC 3821
  • Running Stitch/Straight Stitch spokes DMC 3814
  • Whipped Wheel DMC 3607
Four TAST Stitches
Garland wrapping three Fantasy Flowers
  • Alternating barred chain interspersed with chain DMC 3814 (1 strand) and DMC 3813 (2 strands)
  • Detached Chain DMC 3821

So what do you think?  Which is your favorite Fantasy Flower?  Or do you like the Garland best?

2 thoughts on “Take A Stitch Tuesday Catch Up

Leave a Reply

