What Inspires You?

The State Bird of New York is the Bluebird.  I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve seen a bluebird while in New York state.  I’ve seen quite a few since we’ve been spending time in Mississippi and Alabama.  And now that it is spring I’ve been seeing even more.  They are beautiful!  Jeff has been watching the endangered Gopher Tortoises make their way out of their tunnels to warm themselves before it is time to lay their eggs.  I love spring!  I also love fall.  All the colors and the contrasts are so beautiful.  Life just seems so close and the Cycling of Mother Earth is so palpable.

Last year a crazy robin built a nest in the cross boards of our picnic table that was right outside our bedroom door.  Every day for about a week we would see the new fixings until there was finally a gorgeously and neatly woven nest.

One of several initial nest building attempts

This robin is persistant! One of about four false starts.

Day by day we watched as the mother laid one egg every day until she had 4 blue eggs side by side.

An egg a day

How many will hatch?

I was so worried because it was still kind of chilly out and everytime we opened the door the mother would fly away.  I was afraid the eggs wouldn’t hatch.  I think I drove Jeff crazy with my worrying.  But I think the mother got to know us and if we were careful we could walk into the bedroom and watch her watch us.

Mama Robin sitting on the eggs

"Do NOT mess with me!"

Finally, one day there was a tiny orange fluff ball in the nest.  And the next day there were two.  Mama bird kicked one egg out and the fourth just never hatched.  I wondered if it was our fault.

Two hatched and two to go

One is so new it still has shell attached!

Mama bird fed them and so did papa bird.  These kids ate a lot!

Mama Robin feeding waiting babies

Mama Robin feeding waiting babies

And it took some time before the hatchlings actually looked like robins.

Baby robins are looking around now

What's that I see?

These birds sure do eat a lot

These birds sure do eat a lot

The two hatched robins finally resemble birds

We are robins, red breasted all!

Then they started to move around the nest, walking around the edge.

Baby Robins walking around nest rim

Ready to fly

Then one day they were just gone.  Never even said good-bye!  But then we noticed there were other nests around us.  One in a neighbors satellite dish.  Another under the front end of a fifth wheeler camper.  They were for robins.  Then we spotted this one…a hummingbird nest with a new family, too.

Hummingbird nest high in tree

Hummingbird nest

So in honor of all the beautiful birds that are nesting right now in this week’s TAST Challenge to use the Stem Stitch, I stitched a little bluebird.  Here she is, with a stem stitched sprig of spring to begin her new nest!

Stem Stitch Bluebird

House Building Time

I hope you like her!  But tell me….What inspires you!

4 thoughts on “What Inspires You?

Leave a Reply

