Pinterest: Shining Some Light on Possibly Shady Practice

I was planning on doing another post regarding Pinterest given what I have found out in the past few days.  But this comment from Kim Salazar of String Or Nothing has moved me to action.  She says:  “I have a love hate relationship with aggregators of all types, including Pinterest. I am not happy when pattern scraping Pinterest collectors repost the graphs I offer up on my site, for exactly the reasons you mention. It’s just a visual rehash of the same parasitic problem that About.com posed – reuse of the target’s intellectual property without recompense or permission. Thanks for surfacing the problem again.”

When I have pinned things on my Boards I have given serious thought to creative property rights.  But Time Thief (my favorite Blogging Tipster) pointed out in a recent post that there is another issue with Pinterest.  Have you ever wondered how such sites make money?  It has been the topic of discussion for savvy bloggers.  The shady practices of Pinterest have even got the New York Times talking.

I am removing my Pinterest links from my blogs.  And as soon as I book mark the sites on my Boards, I’ll be terminating my relationship with Pinterest.  I don’t do business with companies lacking in integrity.

1 thought on “Pinterest: Shining Some Light on Possibly Shady Practice

  1. Thanks so much for the honorable mention and link. As I said in my article I haven’t created any pinboards and I don’t feel so inclined now. My concern is the lack of disclosure not the practice per say or how they are applying it. I’m an up front person and the FTC regulations state affiliate disclosure is required. I can’t locate anything on that subject on the Pinterest site.

    Your point on aggregators is well taken also. I have a couple of stories I may share in a confession post, wherein I admit my biggest blogging blunders one day … or not.

    Cheers

Leave a comment