February Is The Shortest Month: HAED Stitchalong Update

It seems like I just put my Heaven and Earth Designs Stitchalong project away.  I really missed working on my other projects for the week that I worked on The Tree of Creation.  Especially Erna and Quaker Virtues.  I am so close to done working on the stitching part of Erna and stitching on Virtues is just so fun and relaxing!  A real sense of accomplishment working on them.

But The Tree of Creation?  Not so much.  This sucker is HUGE!  I know there are some that are even bigger, but this is the biggest pattern I’ve ever attempted.  She is 332 stitches by 380 stitches.  That is a total of 126,160 total stitches.  In the week that I stitched I completed 1002 stitches.  If I stitch at the same rate that means it will take about 126 weeks to complete this baby!  That’s almost 2 ½ years!

As you think about your Heaven and Earth Design projects, think also about the song from RENT called “Seasons of Love.”  If you don’t know the tune, check it out on YouTube.  Then change the lyrics to these below.  Substitute the numbers for those of your project.  All this week, we’ll be making a nice chorus about the globe!

Or sing it while you look at the photos of my work!  (below)

Ode to Heaven and Earth Designs (Tree of Creation by Cari Buziak)
(These lyrics by me!)

One hundred twenty-six thousand
One hundred sixty stitches
One hundred twenty-six thousand
Stitches so fine
One hundred twenty-six thousand
One hundred sixty stitches
How do you measure — measure your Heav’n Earth progress?

In colors – In pages
In minutes – In hours spent stitching
In skeins used –In floss yards
In frogging – In tears or years?

In one hundred twenty-six thousand
One hundred sixty stitches
How do you measure
The accomplishment of completing a piece?

Leave a comment